Quantum Mechanix Kitty Pryde and Lockheed Q-Fig Elite Diorama [2021]

I know, I know, it’s been a million years since I’ve actually posted anything (sorry, lazy)! It’s been so long, in fact, that I have no idea where my watermarks are and the interface here is all different so this is prolly gonna look funky. I also don’t know the last time I did a figure review, let alone one on a figure from a non-Japanese maker or origin; maybe not since my Takaya Noriko/Gunbuster figure?!

Really? Mine contained disappointment.

Well, here’s a quick and dirty review for you! Can you believe that before there was Ariel, there was a Waifu #0? Her name is Kitty Pryde, also known by her X-Men codename Shadowcat! I’ve looked for a very long time for a figure that would do her justice in my eyes and never found one, until now! At least, that’s what I thought….

Manufacturer’s Product Image

This is what I was promised. She might not look like the Alan Davis/Paul Neary version I fell in love with so many years ago, but she’s super (heh) cute, wide-eyed, and exuberant — just how I remember her from her Excalibur days. I really wanted to love this figure. How much? I ordered it THREE TIMES! Not once could I get a decent copy of it.

First Copy’s Face and Gloves

The first copy I got had what looks like a chip right on her eyelashes as well as some missing paint on her lips/mouth. What’s the first thing you look at when you look at a figure? The face! I can’t believe Quantum Mechanix let this get by their quality control/assurance department. There’s also uneven paint application on her gloves which is annoying.

First Copy’s Base

Moving on to the base, there was some weirdness with the circled part of the destroyed Sentinel’s paint here as well. It looks like a layer of dust but it didn’t rub off so I don’t know what happened there. The black rim also had smudges and uneven paint.

Second Copy’s Body and Gloves

The second copy I got had a great face but the issues with the paintwork on the gloves persisted: overspray in some areas and not enough coverage in others. There was also a weird rough patch on the side of her body in addition to the obviously bad paint job. I didn’t take pictures of the front of her suit but there are random specks of paint which are small but totally noticeable against the solid yellow.

Second Copy’s Ponytail

Even if I wanted to hide the side of the figure with the weird rough patch, I wouldn’t be able to due to the random splotches of red in her hair on her right side! Even in this blurry pic (sorry OTL) you can see it; why didn’t QMx?

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures of the third copy I got because at that point I was so done that I didn’t even bother before I sent it back. The two major problems with that one was (1) Kitty had a splotch of paint on her left eye and (2) Lockheed’s left wing somehow wound up between his horns! He’d never be able to fly that way! If you look at the prototype, you’ll see that there’s no way that could’ve happened except during assembly at the factory.

So I guess my search for the perfect Kitty Pryde figure continues. What’s really disappointing is that based on the items that I’ve seen at various conventions, I had high hopes for Quantum Mechanix. Their items always looked top notch but it’s obvious now that they either put all their efforts into their prototypes or they just don’t care about the cheaper end of their catalog. I mean, sure, this is a $30 figure, but I’ve seen prize figures with better QC than what I got. If this is the kind of “quality” you can expect from Quantum Mechanix, no thanks!

Anyway, sorry for the prolonged radio silence; hopefully I’ll get around to reviving this blog as things open up once again so I can add to the backlog that I still haven’t gotten to lol. In the meantime, follow the blog (by clicking the “Resistance is Futile” button) or Like any of my Pages (jimsha, The Vault/Beginning Story, and agc pictures) on Facebook to be instantly notified of new adventures. See you again soon!

2 Responses to Quantum Mechanix Kitty Pryde and Lockheed Q-Fig Elite Diorama [2021]

  1. cousinpizza says:

    I loved your post and I am happy to find that you are still online after all these years, I found your channel by watching this video of yours https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hexTQwaPWyo

    • agcpictures says:

      Thank you so much! I haven’t had a chance to post in a while but thank you for visiting. 🙂 And I see you are a man of culture as well; Okada Mari is awesome!

Leave a comment