Anime Expo 2016, Day 1: KimiUso Ver.

I don’t remember when I heard that Arakawa Naoshi, the creator of Your Lie in April (四月は君の嘘 / Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso aka KimiUso), would be a Guest of Honor at this year’s Anime Expo, but having just finished watching Your lie in April (no idea why they only capitalize the “lie” in the manga title and not the anime title, even though the show uses the hashtag #YLiA) back in May, I was filled with great excitement (due to my love for the anime) and great dread (due to AX’s penchant for buggering things up nicely).

Well, I’m happy to report that, overall, KimiUso Con went rather smoothly! I was surprised by the efficient handling of the autograph session I attended (as opposed to the last one I went to at AX13) and was REALLY surprised that they actually had some con-exclusive merchandise for sale, which I don’t think I’ve ever seen before.

Of course, I don’t usually pay as much attention to other shows as I did for YLiA, but most of the AX “exclusives” that I’ve come across are things that you can get directly from Japan or things that are just available at con first and become widely available later (like Nendoroids).

This time, though, Arakawa-sensei did some original art for AX so there was an exclusive shirt and shikishi! Too bad Anime Expo didn’t auction off the original art since I totally would’ve bid on it (I’m sure it “somehow” made its way onto one of the walls in their offices), but at least I got some cool loots!

Kotobukiya had the exclusive shirt and the Kodansha Comics HUB booth on the other side had a huge display featuring waifu Kao-chan!

Plenty of art from KimiUso was on display, including this original manga spread!

After doing my shopping, I popped across the aisle to Aniplex USA​‘s A-1 Pictures​ Exhibit.

The exhibit was kind of small but pretty interesting; they had several of these displays set up for different productions. The monitors cycled scenes created from the genga (animation drawings) below.

So here we are, back at the Kodansha Comics HUB, where they were running the Your Lie in April Quest, a texting scavenger hunt! The first 1000 participants of the day got a tote bag and the 10 fastest finishers got a free copy of volume 1!

At the finish was the tote bag you got for participating, as well as the shikishi they gave you if you showed them a copy of the manga. I was told I had a good time so I was hopeful I’d win a copy of the manga, but there were so many dirty, filthy cheaters that I don’t think Kodansha will be doing a time-based hunt again any time soon. 😛 If you’re reading this, Kodansha, the photos in the Facebook album are proof that I actually did the hunt!

After all that running around, I was finally able to slow it down a bit and take in some of the con. I ran into Nagato, my waifu from Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu, so I had her hold my Japanese copy of YLiA volume 1, fufufu.

Loots from Day 1! (Yes, despite not buying much/anything the last few AXes, I actually went full Konata Izumi from Lucky Star and spent so much money that each day gets its own loot pic!) Details in my Facebook album!

Anyway, the primary missions on Day 1 were to get Arakawa-sensei’s autograph (and to give him the crappy fan letter I wrote) and to get as much loot as I could find, so mission accomplished! There’ll be another post for Day 1 with the non-YLiA photos, and the YLiA stuff from the rest of the weekend will appear in the posts for the other days, so be sure to check them out, too!

See the full album on my Fan Page on Facebook and be sure to Like The Vault on Facebook, where I’m finally caught up through 2010! 😀

2016 07 01 Fri: Anime Expo 2016, Day 1: KimiUso Ver.

Full Coverage of Anime Expo 2016:

2016 07 01 Fri: Anime Expo 2016, Day 1: KimiUso Ver.
2016 07 01 Fri: Anime Expo 2016, Day 1: Standard Ver.
2016 07 02 Sat: Anime Expo 2016, Day 2
2016 07 03 Sun: Anime Expo 2016, Day 3
2016 07 04 Mon: Anime Expo 2016, Day 4
2016 07 04 Mon: Anime Expo 2016 Anniversaries
2016 07 04 Mon: Anime Expo 2016 Itasha
2016 07 04 Mon: Anime Expo 2016 GSC Racing

Leave a Reply

