Anime Expo 2010, Day 1

Do you remember when AX wasn’t stupid crowded? Maybe these photos from Day 1 of AX10 will help you remember!

In previous years I’d commuted to Anime Expo, so AX10 was the first time I stayed at a hotel on-site. My Bad Influence Cousin (the one who got me into figure collecting) also made the trip out for the con that year.

Just caught the end of the Eureka Seven (Kōkyōshihen Eureka Sebun / 交響詩篇エウレカセブン) gathering as we arrived. Originally on the watch list mainly for the character designs, but I hear it’s actually pretty good.

lolwut? Domo and Starscream!

Ariel and a Hello Kitty fan.

The lady at this Queen’s Blade booth complimented me on my Haruhi Obey shirt. xD I’m constantly amazed by the number of women who love this series. I guess despite the heavy fan service it’s really, at its core, a story about strong women. Who lose their clothes. A lot.

Kannagi: Crazy Shrine Maidens (Kannagi / かんなぎ) and Hayate the Combat Butler (Hepburn: Hayate no Gotoku! / ハヤテのごとく!) ftw! xD And while I’ve finally seen Gurren Lagann, I still haven’t made it to Gundam yet. ^^;

Took considerable willpower not to walk off with this banner of mai waifu, though in retrospect I’m glad I didn’t, since I kind of hated Yuki in The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya. 😛

Epic deals of previous years missing from the DMP booth this year. But it might have something to do with showing up hella late, due to a power outage the night before and hotel/badge logistics the day of.

Just about the cutest Miku cosplay evar!

Senjougahara Hitagi (yes I had to look up the correct spelling) and possibly others from Bakemonogatari (化物語). I hear she is the tsundere to end all tsunderes. Yea or nay?

Spent maybe 20 minutes total in the dealer’s hall b/c my cousin wanted to check out the AKB48 concert. After that it was time to grub before hitting the AMVs. Kind of a short day, but the weekend was just beginning!

See the full album at The Vault on Facebook and be sure to Like my main Fan Page on Facebook so you can be alerted to my return!

2010 07 01 Thu: Anime Expo, Day 1

Full Coverage of Anime Expo 2010:

Anime Expo 2010, Day 1
Anime Expo 2010, Day 2*
Anime Expo 2010, Day 3*
Anime Expo 2010, Day 4

Leave a Reply

