San Francisco International Airport [Dec 2013]

I unexpectedly stopped in San Francisco International Airport (SFO) during the holidays, and since it’s been quite some time since I’ve been through there, it was like being there for the first time. I find airports to be interesting because they typically take pride in showing off their local culture and history, but I had no idea that SFO had an actual Museum inside!

The SFO Museum’s mission is to “humanize the Airport environment and reflect the cultural life of the San Francisco Bay Area”, and the exhibit I stumbled upon, Japanese Toys! From Kokeshi to Kaiju, was a pleasant distraction during a difficult trip.

Toy rockets and spaceships know no boundaries!

Wow, a Pan Am plane based on that canceled TV show! 😉

Ultraman costume on display.

So many different Mazingers, including Mazinger Z, better known as Tranzor Z here in the US!

Have you ever heard of Robot Detective (ロボット刑事)? Apparently, this is the cover of a pop-up book based on the show.

I only had a regular rocking horse when I was growing up, haha.

Never read or watched the original, but the US movie version of Speed Racer wasn’t as terrible as people made it out to be.

Lots of cool Japanese movie posters lined the moving sidewalk. Really surprised these posters weren’t framed or behind glass.

Battengar is part baseball-pitching machine and part monster. Sounds like Japanese for “copyright infringement” to me! xD

This is a dress adorned with Hello Kitty plushes. :O Wonder how much that thing weighs?

Did you know that Hello Kitty is technically the group of Sanrio characters and that her name is actually Kitty White? Neither did I! I’m still going to call her Hello Kitty, haha.

This huge dog sculpture was inspired by Japanese folk toys (at least, that’s what it said on the placard). Kind of reminds me of a Smorkin’ Labbit, to be honest. ^^;

Always cool to see old aircraft on display!

Very surprised to see this exhibit while I was making my way to my connecting flight. What a nice little Christmas gift! As always, more in the album on my Facebook Page!

2013 12 24 Tue: San Francisco International Airport

Leave a Reply

