Madoka -Rebellion- Premiere/Meetup [Dec 2013]

Double-posts continue with more recaps of events from 2013. ^^;

The third in the series of Puella Magi Madoka Magica films, the ridiculously titled Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika the Movie Part 3: -Rebellion- (劇場版 魔法少女まどか☆マギカ 叛逆の物語), had its US Premiere at the historic Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood in early December! Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to attend the actual event, but I did manage to stop by and take a few photos of the proceedings.

Tickets for the event sold out in a matter of hours!

Wonder who got to take this awesome banner home?

I wasn’t able to stay and take pictures since they were shooing away folks who didn’t have movie tickets or press passes, but I know my friends Cristina Vee and Lauren Landa were among those who walked the red carpet.

Madoka cosplayers! I think Madoka might be RuffleButt Cosplay?

Forget the Madoka banner, I wants the HomuHomu one!

All the grillwork gets in the way of the Egyptian sign, but from the other angle Madoka is smaller. :p

I finally got to see the film the following Saturday at the same place I saw the first two films (-Beginnings- and -Eternal-), the Downtown Independent near Little Tokyo, during its Oscar-qualifying run! Yep, the film’s makers submitted -Rebellion- to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for consideration as Best Animated Feature Film, and one of the requirements is a week-long engagement in Los Angeles.

So many different posters with Homerun. Why didn’t they give them away like they did last time?? *sob*

It was the first showing on Saturday and limited exclusives at Anime Jungle’s booth were already selling out! D:

An Aniplex rep laid down the ground rules for the screening — namely, no photos or videos. If they caught anyone recording either, they were going to stop the screening and send everyone out! DX

Afterwards, we stopped in Little Tokyo for noms at Restaurant Aoi. Had never been there before, but it was quite tasty!

Enjoyed the festive Christmas decorations in Little Tokyo Village Plaza before calling it a night. I’m not sure where they store this huge Christmas tree when it’s not the holidays!

Managed to get a couple of theater exclusives: the Charlotte cell phone holder (though I don’t have a smart phone -_-; ), a couple of bandanas that I’ll never wear, and a Homura mini-signboard (I’d gotten Madokami and Homura but traded for the solo image of Homura).

Also managed to score a poster, fufufu. 😉

While I didn’t initially enjoy -Rebellion- as I did the show, the more I thought about its deeper meanings and allegories, the more I could see its brilliance. Plus, this is what finally elevated HomuHomu to waifu status, haha. So glad I was able to enjoy the film in the company of friends, all without having to make a contract! 😉

See more photos from the premiere and the screening I attended in the album on my Facebook Page!

2013 12 03 Tue/12 07 Sat: MSMM -Rebellion- Premiere/Meetup

Leave a Reply

