Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika LA Premiere [Oct 2012]

The eleventh of The Twelve Posts of Christmas is about one of 2011’s best-regarded anime series’ recap films!

I finally watched Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika (魔法少女まどか★マギカ / Puella Magi Madoka Magica) in September and heard that they were going to be screening the films in LA at the Downtown Independent less than a month later.

I enjoyed the series, so I thought it might be fun to see it with some hardcore fans on the opening night.

Unfortunately, since it was pretty early on Friday (due to the running times of the films) it turned out that, while the show was sold out, the audience was relatively subdued.

There were minimal reactions during the screening and I only saw one cosplayer who was there as a fan! Of course, that didn’t stop Anime Jungle from already selling out of the guidebooks by the time I got inside. DX

On the bright side, I was able to run into Cristina Vee while I was in line, and after the event I got to have dinner in Little Tokyo with many of my friends from AX Live.

I even did a quick photoshoot with AX Live correspondent Kari Lane in her Homura Casual ver. cosplay!

It was a little challenging to shoot in this parking garage since the lighting was terrible and brake lights didn’t help. ^^;

We finally managed to find a good spot where the light was just right!

While I wasn’t able to get the wallscroll or the guidebooks I really, really, really wanted *cry*, I did manage to get a few screening exclusives, namely a Kyuubey scarf, the free signboard and poster (not pictured), and two earplug accessories! More details at the link below.

The following evening I was back in Little Tokyo and saw the window display at American Apparel celebrating Halloween and magical girls.

I’ve never actually watched Sailor Moon, but the costumes are pretty recognizable!

I can’t believe I missed it the night before since I had to walk by there twice!

The films themselves were pretty much a straight retelling of the series with some changes that don’t really affect the story. There’s the now (in)famous new opening sequence featuring “Luminous” by ClariS, new transformation sequences for all the girls including one for Mami showcasing Kalafina’s “Mirai”, a slight redesign of Sayaka’s magical girl form, corrected dialogue (like Kyuubey’s entropy speech), and new bits of Homura trolling Kyouko and just generally being awesome. ♥

There were also some cuts made, such as Madoka’s dream sequences and Mami’s backstory, but nothing that would wind up leaving first-time watchers scratching their heads. Well, besides the actual story, I guess. XD The sound was cranked up pretty high so the equivalent of episode 12 tended to get a bit screechy. The subs were pretty easy to follow, though I did notice a few grammatical errors. Considering the films had come out in Japan the week before, I guess they were pretty all right for speed subs. 😉

More photos and notes from the premiere in my Facebook album linked below!

2012 10 19 Fri/10 20 Sat: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Premiere

Leave a Reply

