Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Photoshoot [2012]

The third of The Twelve Posts of Christmas is about the third shoot of AX, which was also the third shoot of Day 2! :O ♪♫Oooooooh…♫♪

My friend The OtaKing had put me in contact with Cosplay Chicas shortly before AX and we managed to meet up Saturday night. After agreeing on a location I’d serendipitously seen during a shoot earlier in the day, we started an epic two-hour shoot!

Madoka Group

Aside from my C3 shoot at Fanime, I haven’t really worked with a large group like this, but having so many people really livens things up and it’s great for brainstorming poses since everyone gets to bounce ideas off each other. It was especially helpful since I hadn’t seen Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika (魔法少女まどか★マギカ / Puella Magi Madoka Magica) at the time. ^^;

Madomura

Since I hadn’t seen the show yet, I really had no ideas on what kind of personalities the characters had or what their relationships with each other were like. The Cosplay Chicas really helped me out with their posing ideas!

Homura Remembers

I really hope none of these pictures are too spoiler-y. D:

Kyouko Love

Haha, we had fun trying to come up with ways to incorporate the vending machine since Kyouko Sakura loves her food.

Mami

I really love the curls that Mami Tomoe has. That’s an impressive bit of wig styling right there!

HomuHomu

I love Homura Akemi’s pose and the casual bit with her hair.

Echoes of Sailor Moon

Kyuubey (Kyubey?)’s shadow evokes the image of Sailor Moon. xD

QB

Since this was a night shoot, everything came out kind of dark and grainy. I tried to fix things as best I could, but I still have much to learn. OTL

Sayaka

Sayaka Miki was the only one with a prop, and she had a bunch of poses picked out that put it to good use.

Madoka and Sayaka

I like this shot of Madoka Kaname with Sayaka Miki a lot and wound up using it a couple of times. ^^;

I’m glad I got the chance to work with these awesome ladies and that they trusted me with their pictures, since we didn’t even really meet until that night. I look forward to hanging out with them again soon!

Be sure to check out the rest of the photos from this photoshoot on my Facebook at the link below!

2012 06 30 Sat: Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Photoshoot

Full Coverage of Anime Expo 2012:

Anime Expo 2012, Days 1 and 2
Anime Expo 2012, Days 3 and 4
Goth × Loli Photoshoot
Tifa (Amano Art Variant) Photoshoot
Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Photoshoot
Marceline the Vampire Queen Photoshoot
Shizuru Fujino and Natsuki Kuga Photoshoot

3 Responses to Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magika Photoshoot [2012]

  1. Laura Garza says:

    haha wow a blog! Your working your way up 😀 yay!!! We’re all so very glad you took the time to do the shoot~ thanks again a bajillion times! It was a great night so thanks for sharing it with us ^-^

  2. Manga online says:

    Very nice post. I definitely love this site. Continue the good work!

Leave a Reply

