Big Laughs in Little Tokyo “Lucky Charms” [Mar 2012]

Kind of an odd post this week, hope it doesn’t throw you off too much. ^^;

Had been eying the Olympus XZ-1 for quite some time, since I haven’t really been happy with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7 I got last year. While there seem to be more and more pocket-cams capable of shooting RAW and offering a wide range of manual controls, I was intrigued by the super-fast f/1.8 lens on this one. Even though it got mixed reviews–especially with regards to video capabilities–when it dropped 70% in price, I snatched one up anyway!

The day after I got it, I decided to try it out in the wild. My friend D-Boy was hosting a comedy show in Little Tokyo, so I met up with some friends for some dinner beforehand. I’m not a huge fan of shabu shabu, but it was good to hang out!

Afterwards, we headed over to the Miyako Hotel, where the show was being held. I took a few test shots while we waited, and the results were promising. The pictures were way better than the ones that I was able to get with the ZS7.

I also took some test video while D-Boy started the show up. My old ZS7 really shined in this regard, as it can do 720p video in AVCHD until the card fills up; the XZ-1 only does Motion JPEG for 7 minutes at a time. Also, the XZ-1 kept adjusting its focus as it recorded, even when I attempted to set it to manual focus! DX

This was the first performer and the last one I took any pictures of, b/c I was too busy laughing! đŸ˜‰

Halfway through the show, Ashi-chan and Ginger showed up to check it out. At the end, though, Danny called them up to be stage babes! Here they raffle off the event sign with autographs from all of the comedians. Of course, I missed it by one! >_< If I'd only cut my friend in line, I could've taken home the prize!

The second raffle was for Rice Krispy treats. o_Oa Iunno, it’s a comedy show!

Apparently, somebody already ate the raffle prize. xD;

It was a fun night, and I was able to try out the new camera. It’s got some amazing capabilities, and while I can’t say I’m completely happy with it, I’m looking forward to playing around with it some more! At least until the next model comes along, haha. đŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

