Acoustic Koreatown Show [Feb 2012]

I don’t generally venture out on Friday nights due to work and traffic, but since a few of my friends were performing during a night of acoustic music, I had to go check it out and support them! The show was held at the Garden Suites Hotel and Resort in Koreatown on 17 February and put together by my friend Matthew Gregory Cartagena. Some moments were definitely NSFW, so click with caution! ^^;

Here is the first act of the night, Chad Seymour and Eric Serna. I was originally only planning to record video of my friends’ performances, so I didn’t get any video of these guys. :<

My friends Mynx Midnight and Brathzo Karanovic of anime cover band Midnight Shinigami (winners of AX11‘s Battle of the Bands) were up next! They did a bunch of songs, including “Don’t Say ‘Lazy'” from K-ON!; “Zero” from Nana; “HIGHSCHOOL OF THE DEAD” from Highschool of the Dead; “Zombie” by The Cranberries; and “Enter Sandman” by Metallica. This was the first time I ever used my DSLR to record video, and of course it stopped recording halfway through the set due to file size limitations. DX You’ll need to go to my YouTube channel for the second half!

My friend Hidekowin was the third performer of the night. She did her own original song, “Keep Talking”, as well as “Tamashii no Rufuran” from Neon Genesis Evangelion; “A Goose’s Dream” by Insooni; and “Tell Me” (with Matthew Gregory Cartagena) by hide.

Nobu “Albatross” Kawamura was next, and here he introduces himself after his second song. As I mentioned, I was only going to record my friends Hidekowin and Mynx & Brathzo, but Nobu was super-rad so I started recording him, too. Of course, he only did the two songs. -_-;

Up next was the host of the event, Matthew Gregory Cartagena of Mize A’Mort. He performed a few songs, but I only recorded “Time Isn’t Free” since Hidekowin started taking video as well. I didn’t want to put up redundant footage, so I switched back to stills, a couple of which can be found in my Facebook album.

Terry Thomas of Ultimatics gave a shout-out to Mynx Midnight before he sang “Chesterfield Girls”! He followed that up with his original songs “Talk Too Much”; “Just Say You Love Me”; “Love in Cold Blood”; and “So Long, Goodbye”.

Next was Fresh Out Of Fiction, who mixed it up with some covers as well as original compositions, including “Go to Hell”; “Wish You Were Here” by Pink Floyd; “Better Sorry than Safe”; “Just the Two of Us”/”Yo Home To Bel-Air” by Grover Washington, Jr., & Bill Withers and Will Smith; and “Poonmaster 5000”. Unfortunately, they weren’t very happy with their performance so they requested that I not upload the video.

I adjusted some settings on my DSLR and tried to record video again, but it still stopped recording about 12 minutes into Jake Woodruff’s set. :/ Luckily, I don’t think I missed any of his songs, which included “I L.O.V.E. Y.O.U.”; “You’re All I’m Dreaming Of”; “It’s Been Too Long”; and an a capella version of “Ignition (Remix)” (with Matthew Gregory Cartagena) by R. Kelly. See the second half on my YouTube channel!

Crowd favorite and head-liner Anton “The Anton” Torres closed out the night, performing new and old originals and covers such as his take on “Pokémon Theme” from Pokémon; “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” from Mulan; “Threshold” by Sex Bob-Omb (from Scott Pilgrim vs. the World); “Anime”; “…Baby One More Time” (with Matthew Gregory Cartagena) by Britney Spears; “Wannabe” (with Matthew Gregory Cartagena) by Spice Girls; and “Pterodactyl”. Three parts here b/c first the battery went out on my point-and-shoot and then the memory card filled up; you know where to find parts 2 and 3! 😉

It was a fun night out cheering on my friends and listening to energetic performances. Best of all, the event was free! Matthew is planning to hold more of these events regularly, so hopefully you can catch a show if you happen to be in the area!

Leave a Reply

