Read or Die’s Yomiko Readman and Nancy Makuhari by Kotobukiya [May 2010]

Kotobukiya’s 1/8 scale pre-painted resin statues of Read or Die’s Yomiko Readman and Nancy Makuhari. Both of them were sculpted by Hiroshi Inagaki. Quick and dirty, since these are up for sale/trade. ^^ Because of that, I’ll be focusing more on the problem areas in the interests of full disclosure.

Shot against the baby blue wall of a young girl’s former bedroom. For those of you who don’t know, I recently moved into a house.

The boxes are quite lovely. They feature the letters “R”, “O”, and “D” on each side with various images of the character from the anime. The back has the obligatory promotional stuffs. As these are resin statues, there are no windows to see inside as is generally the case with PVC statues. Resins are heavier and more fragile, so styrofoam is usually the packing material of choice, as well as heavier cardboard for the boxes.

The boxes are copyrighted 2001, 2002. Are these figs really that old?

Anyway, the boxes for these statues are rarely (if ever) sealed, so I opened up them up to see if the styrofoam packing was still sealed. Turns out they were not b/c the tape was broken in both cases, so I lifted off the top piece of styrofoam to take a look at the figs themselves.

Here is the dynamic “MS. DEEP”, Nancy Makuhari, in her packing. Now, I’d left Yomiko alone in the foam and I had every intention of leaving Nancy alone. I took a picture like this and was putting the tissue paper back over when I noticed a break where the leg meets that support beam. I figured I might as well take a closer look at all the resin statues from that old get just to be safe. You lucky reader, you. 😉

Since Nancy and Yomiko had both been opened, I can only guess that one of the workers at Anime on the Rocks (the store where I got them from) had opened them up to check for damage. I can only further surmise that s/he prolly took Nancy out by the base and — well, that leg sticking out sure looks like a handy place to grab, doesn’t it? It prolly went crack after that. T_T

Looking at it on a level plane, though, it’s not too terrible. Ms. Deep’s deep, deep thigh manages to do a nice job of extending past the separation point.

Here’s another angle of the break. It shouldn’t be a problem support-wise, since the peg that holds the leg up is still intact. I’m sure a steadier hand than mine and some superglue could get her shipshape again.

That is, if you’re not too busy staring at her bottom to notice the break. XD

The other problem I noticed was this shiny spot on her leg. It isn’t really noticeable unless you happen to catch it at the right angle — it took several shots for me to get it on “film”.  It’s just a bit shiny, and I can’t really figure out what it is; it’s not a chip or anything, any ideas?

Nancy sure seems to like her job. I wonder how she’d feel on the other end of that gun? ^^

Took forever to get the gun in focus, as the autofocus kept wanting to focus on things not so close. ^^;; Time for a new camera?

Her legs seem to go on for days! Might just be the macro lens playing fast and loose with distortion tho.

Another angle of the crack… and her cracks. No, no, there is only one actual crack. XD

You can see that Nancy displays quite nicely and the crack isn’t visible at all from this angle.

And now, here is the lovely “THE PAPER”, Yomiko Readman. I decided that since I was going to be checking out these figs anyway, might as well take a few snaps. ^^ I’ve never seen this series and I don’t know the kanji for her name, but I like to think that the “Yomi” comes from the Japanese word for “read”, “yomimasu”. “Ko” means “girl”, so her name is “Reading Girl”. Anyone know for sure?

As you can see, the paintjob isn’t perfect on the button of her coat, and there are some dents on her skirt.  These dents were probably already there in production, as the paint wasn’t affected at all (ie, no chipping, etc.).

There’s the same shiny spot on her coat that was on Nancy’s thigh. Again, it took several tries to get it on film, and I’m not sure what it is.  The shiny spots on both figures are about a millimeter in diameter, and since they both have one, they may be some kind of production artifact.

And here are our lovely ladies side-by-side. Kotobukiya has since released a PVC version of Yomiko that not only has a cool “flying paper” base, but is also castoffable! O_O

Vital Stats:

Character: Yomiko Readman / Nancy Makuhari (sold separately)

Series: Read or Die

Manufacturer: Kotobukiya

Sculptor: Hiroshi Inagaki

Material: Resin

Scale: 1/8

MSRP: 12,000 Yen

13 Responses to Read or Die’s Yomiko Readman and Nancy Makuhari by Kotobukiya [May 2010]

  1. Calum says:

    oooooh, how much are ya selling them for?

    • agcpictures says:

      Been sidetracked by a bunch of things so kinda forgot about them. ^^;; Someone was interested in trading for Nancy, though; need to follow up with him. I’ll let you know once everything gets sorted out!

  2. Calum says:

    Hokay ^_^

  3. Calum says:

    ^_^ and you have a BIG figure collection!
    beats mine of like…3, but at least when i get a figure it’s a special event (and the character means something to me) unlike some of those uber collector’s who pre-order everything, and when it arrives it gets shoved in a cupboard for a few years!
    (don’t worry, i’m not ranting bout you 🙂 on a foru somewhere, this guy was getting 2-3 figures arrive a day)

    • agcpictures says:

      I’ve actually never pre-ordered anything and I’m really picky about what I collect! (I’ve passed on figs b/c I didn’t like their paintjobs or sculpt.) I can pretty much tell you when and where I got each of my figures b/c it’s a special event for me, too. Plus, half my collection is gashapon, so my collection isn’t nearly as impressive as some people’s! xD

      That said, I’ve also bought a few lots just to get one or two hard-to-find figures at good prices. I think finding a great piece at a great price is part of the fun! And while I’d love to keep all of them, I don’t have the space to display them and that keeps them from fulfilling their purpose. 😦 Hopefully I will find good homes for my girls! ^^

  4. Calum says:

    ^_^ i only just recently started collecting (were talking, like 3 months) so my only real figure is my sol international “Ciel” from melty blood (which i got such a good price on!) and a coupla gashapons.
    The other reason why i want Yomiko and Nancy so much is because R.O.D is my favouritist anime of forever ^_^……but i do confess to buying “Meg” (alter) from burst angel because she was so cheap (mainly because her yellowed base)

    • agcpictures says:

      Oh, wow, welcome to the club! Your wallet will soon grow to hate you. ^^

      I actually have two Sol Melty Blood figs from a lot I bought a while back that’ll prolly go up soon — Arceuid and Hisui….

      Haven’t watched ROD or Burst Angel yet, they’re on the list. xD I used to only collect figs of characters I liked, then figs from series I liked, then figs from series I might like, and now just anything that looks good. It’s a slippery slope, as you will find out one day soon. 😉

      • Calum says:

        i know >_< i'll probably be the same,
        but for now i'm gunna focus on the figures i really like 🙂

  5. Calum says:

    Please let me know if you are going to sell Nancy and Yomiko ^_^

    • agcpictures says:

      Waaaaaugh, sorry, been so busy with a crapton of stuffs. I still have yet to log back into MFC, also! ^^;;

      Anyway, good/bad news: I finally watched R.O.D and let’s just say I love Nancy! But, the figure doesn’t really do her justice, so I’m on the fence about keeping her. The only conclusive thing I’ve decided is that I can’t break up her and Yomi which means I’ll prolly be canceling my pending trade (since the guy already has Yomi).

      What does that mean to you? If you want the pair, I’m willing to entertain offers. Send me a PM on MFC; I should be able to get on there this weekend!

Leave a Reply

