Trektacular Summer [2011]

I think it’s fitting that my procrastination allowed me to put up this post right after I got to meet my one of my heroes and idols, the one and only Mr. Spock: Leonard Nimoy!

I had the pleasure of meeting him after a lecture/discussion he had (with new Spock Zachary Quinto) for his latest photo project, Secret Selves at UCLA’s Hammer Museum. Before anime, there was Star Trek, and I have always been a huge Trekker. It’s unfortunate that photography was restricted inside the Billy Wilder Theatre, but you can watch UCLA’s recording of the lecture on their website soon.

Anyway, how is that appropriate? Well, this summer I went to Orlando, Florida, for vacation! (Yes, I’m aware that’s a banner for Star Tours. -_-; )

You may already know that Orlando is home to many theme parks, including SeaWorld Orlando. Their One World killer whale show with Shamu was beast.

And of course, right down the street is Walt Disney World. Okay, not right down the street, especially since WDW is not the same as Disneyland Resort (while Disney’s California complex is pretty much boxed-in by streets and hotels, WDW sits on 25,000 acres of land!). But still, with my Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS7’s 12x zoom, I was able to get a shot of EPCOT Center’s Spaceship Earth from SeaWorld’s Sky Tower.

Ironically, this trip marks the first time I’ve ever been in Florida and not gone to any of the Disney theme parks. :<

But, I did still manage to step foot on Walt Disney World Resort property by spending an hour or so at the World of Disney store in Downtown Disney.

Only managed to get a few shots, and of course most of them are of my girl Ariel. xD

Besides SeaWorld and Walt Disney World, there is also Universal Orlando Resort. While I’ve been to Universal Studios Florida during visits past, I’d never been to Universal’s Islands of Adventure.

Somehow I vaguely remember the Jurassic Park stuff (maybe they moved that part of the park? lol), but everything else was new to me!

Seuss Landing was pretty fun with my little cousin, to whom I used to read many of Dr. Seuss’ books (Fox in Socks is still my favorite!).

The Lost Continent had some interesting things in it, including this attraction called Poseidon’s Fury. It was essentially a live stage show with an actor and special effects. A good way to beat the heat! At least, until the fire effects got turned on. xD;

Although I’m not much of a Potterhead, The Wizarding World of Harry Potter was quite impressive. And I did wind up having a pleasant conversation with a sales clerk about my Maho? T-shirt. East Coast represent! xD lol

Toon Lagoon brought back memories of some of my favorite Sunday funnies. I love H├Ągar the Horrible!

On the other hand, I found Marvel Super Hero Island to be pretty lackluster. I’m not sure what I was expecting, but I was hoping for more than just up-scaled 2D images stuck to buildings. :/

But there’s more to Florida than just theme parks! It’s also home to Cape Canaveral, an integral part of our nation’s space program.

The original launch date of the final space shuttle mission had been scheduled for 28 June and I’d been hoping to see it. Unfortunately, it got delayed, but it was still cool being able to see the shuttle out on the launch pad!

Even cooler was the fact that the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex was running Sci-Fi Summer: Where Science Fiction Meets Science Fact!

So apologies to all you Star Wars fans, but even NASA now confirms that Star Trek is awesomer! :P (Plus the fact that Star Wars technically isn’t science fiction; it’s science fantasy.)

While I didn’t get a chance to try the Star Trek Shuttlecraft Simulator Adventure, I did manage to take in Star Trek: The Exhibition and the Star Trek LIVE show in between all the other things to see and do there.

Had to beam back for AX, but it was a wonderfully Trek-filled summer!

8 Responses to Trektacular Summer [2011]

  1. [...] next few weekends were very busy, including Summer Geekation, Anime Expo, and a post-AX party with friends. Good thing the pass didn’t expire for 45 days [...]

  2. kid rock says:

    I do believe all the ideas you’ve presented on your post. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief. May just you please prolong them a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  3. Thomas sabo says:

    Thanks for your article on this weblog. From my own experience, many times softening way up a photograph may possibly provide the digital photographer with a bit of an artsy flare. Often times however, this soft blur isn’t just what exactly you had at heart and can in many cases spoil a normally good picture, especially if you anticipate enlarging them.

  4. Sites We Like…

    [...]just below, are some totally unrelated sites to ours, however, they are definitely worth checking out[...]…

  5. E-bike says:

    I like this post, enjoyed this one regards for posting .

  6. Thanks for writing this. Quickquestion, if you wouldn’t mind. Where did you purchase your web-site theme? I’m establishing a blog and like yours.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 640 other followers

